top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Welman

How I got a Graduate role in Beauty PR without a degree

The Beauty PR industry can be a hard one to get into especially if you don't have a degree. I recently landed a Graduate role in the industry without a degree. Reflecting on my journey, I have highlighted some key moments and actions that played a part in me getting the job. These could be useful if you are looking to get into the world of PR.


Firstly, I pinpointed my passion. What was I the best at with the least amount of effort? My answer was make-up and cosmetics. I didn’t want to be a make-up artist, so I did my research I found out about beauty PR and knew it was what I wanted to do.


My next step was to figure out steps I could take to get me to land a job in the industry from having no previous experience just the confidence that this is what I am good at, and I believe I can do it.


This next part of my journey was the most fun and I believe played a massive part in landing my role.


I started to work out ways I could demonstrate my raw passion in a way that would catch an employer’s attention and allow me to stand out amongst other CVs.


I started a beauty blog using WIX (very easy to use). I wrote about what I know, and it didn’t even feel like work which was another indication I was on the right track.



I was so sure of my passion that I brought it up in every conversation. Doing this opened so many doors for me. I spoke to my local hairdresser about my dream to get into the industry and she gave me a Job running the hairdresser's social media. I did this for free as I knew it would look good on my CV and I was happy to help.


Created a vision board with Beauty PR-related images.


Started a YouTube channel demonstrating product knowledge purely to link on my CV for employers to view.


I went to apply for jobs but there was none as at the time the UK was in lockdown. I knew for this job I needed to be in London (London and Manchester are the best places to be for PR roles in the Beauty industry ). I saw that London Metropolitan University had a course for Beauty Marketing and journalism, foundation year starting in January 2021 (at the time it was November 2020, and I did not do A-Levels, so a foundation year was necessary). I applied and got in. I moved to London during the pandemic and attended university via video calls.


Now I was in London I started to network. I was ringing looking for roles and applying online. I saw Maya Jama posted a Make-Up opportunity on her story, so I applied. I happened to be picked and as a result, received Fenty beauty products hand-delivered to my university accommodation by Bernicia Boateng (make-up artist and influencer). I was back home at the time, as there was a sudden death in my family. 2 weeks after this tragic death I picked myself up and headed back into London to meet with Bernicia. Many people would have just left the products and stayed at home, but I was confident in my ability to make something of this opportunity.


BUSINESS CARDS are a god sent. They may be considered old-fashioned, but they work! I created a beauty business card for myself including my contact details and linking my blog and YouTube through a QR code on the back (learned this in my university Digital Media module).



When I met Bernicia, I gave her my card and mentioned I wanted to get into beauty and that her story inspired me. She was lovely and said she would introduce me to her manager Daniel. I gave Daniel my business card and he called me offering me a job.


I worked for Daniel at AGM talent helping manage beauty influencers such as Bernicia. This opened so many doors for me and allowed me to be in an environment working with creatives who inspired me. I am so grateful for Daniel and everything he did for me.


Since that day I believed in business cards and have had the confidence to give them to many people. Through business cards and networking, I also explored my love for fashion and worked as a freelance stylist (set up a styling website and Instagram account). I worked for Spring Studios.


A big takeaway from trying to get into the industry was to take initiative and reach out to potential employees regardless of advertised job opportunities. While attending university I directly emailed employers with my CV and cover letter expressing interest in working for them. Sonja Morgan (Star of New York housewives) replied, and I ended up remotely working as her intern alongside my other jobs at the time. This allowed me to see the behind-the-scenes of Instagram and how it works from a content creator's point of view.


Through networking, working for free, being creative, showing the initiative to pick up the phone or walk up to employers with a business card I managed to eventually (after many failed applications) get a job working as a Graduate press assistant for a beauty PR company In London (Finished my foundation year in September 2021 and started my job early November 2021).


I hope sharing my story can show people that with or without a degree it is possible to get into the industry. Pray, work hard, and believe it is coming. It is simple, but it is not easy.

‘Stay hungry, stay foolish’- Steve Jobs

Tips-

  • Watch videos on how to get into the industry

  • Read beauty PR books

  • Network

  • Stay up to date with the latest trends

  • Surround yourself with people that inspire you and are positive

  • Pray and trust God’s timing

Beauty PR Book


Videos-

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page